Home >> Sports >> Other Sports >> Missouri Sports Hall of Fame 2014 inductions includes several local legendary figures

Missouri Sports Hall of Fame 2014 inductions includes several local legendary figures

Legendary amateur golfer Jim Holgrieve and three outstanding high school coaches in MICDS’ Ron Holtman, St. Joseph’s Academy’s Maureen McVey and De Smet’s Rich Grawer will be among a total of 13 individuals and two American Legion baseball teams that will be inducted into the Missouri Sports Hall of Fame in ceremonies on Thursday (Nov. 6) at the St. Charles Convention Center in St. Charles.

The Enshrinement events will kick off with a 5 p.m. reception with the banquet and Enshrinement Ceremonies getting underway at 6 p.m. All festivities conclude around 9 p.m.

Tickets for the Enshrinement are $125 each with tables of 10 starting at $1,250. Tickets are on sale now and available by calling 417-889-3100.

Football coach Holtman patrolled the sidelines as head coach at Country Day/MICDS for 39 years. He coached his football teams to seven Missouri Class 3 championships, another three appearances in the state semifinals and a total of 16 appearances in the Missouri playoffs. The MICDS athletic field complex was named for him in 2001, and with an overall record of 382-101-8 during 50 years of coaching, he ranks second among the all-time winningest coaches in Missouri high school history. Ron was elected to the Missouri Football Coaches Hall of Fame in 1992. Holtman is still the golf coach at MICDS and has captured six state championships during his tenure.

McVey is one of the top female soccer coaches in the state. McVey has carded more wins in girls soccer than anyone else. She reached the 500-win plateau in May when her St. Joseph’s Academy Angels topped Incarnate Word in overtime of the Missouri Class 3 quarterfinals. Her teams have won four state titles, reached 12 Final Fours. Her 2002 team at St. Joe went 26-0-1 and was the mythical U.S. champion, according to the National Soccer Coaches Association of American rankings at the end of the season. McVey was the first woman ever inducted into the St. Louis Soccer Hall of Fame.

Holtgrieve, a graduate of Webster Groves High School, is one of the most decorated amateur golfers from the state of Missouri. In 1981, Jim won the U.S. Mid-Amateur title and was the runner up in the 1983 British Amateur. He played on three winning Walker Cup teams (1979, 1981, and 1983) and captained the U.S. team in 2011and 2013. Holtgrieve played on the winning U.S. team that captured the Eisenhower Trophy in 1980 and 1982.

Grawer led the De Smet basketball program to three state titles in the 1970’s, and set a record for consecutive wins among large schools in the state of Missouri with 63. He would later become the head coach at Saint Louis University and, in 1985, began a streak of six consecutive winning seasons, culminating it with a then-school record 27 wins in 1988-89. Rich finished with 159 wins, the second most in SLU basketball history.

Others being inducted are: Pete Weber for bowling,  Ernie McMillan for pro football,  Roick Horton for pro baseball and broadcasting, the Plager brothers –  Bill, Barclay and Bob  – for pro hockey,  Neil Rackers for pro football, Kelly Chase for pro hockey, Nancy Fahey for coaching women’s basketball at Washington University, Gerry Davis for umpiring pro baseball,  Bob Lesslie  for amateur baseball.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
Share this: