Home >> Sports >> Baseball >> Annual St. Louis Baseball Writers’ Dinner celebrates 60 years

Annual St. Louis Baseball Writers’ Dinner celebrates 60 years

The 60th annual St. Louis Baseball Writers’ Dinner features a collection of “greats” from the last six decades of Cardinals baseball. The dinner takes place Jan. 14 at the Union Station Hotel.

Headliners at the dinner include Hall of Fame pitcher Bob Gibson, to be saluted on the 50th anniversary of his record-shattering season in 1968, and St. Louis Baseball Man of the Year Tommy Pham, who likewise started the season in Memphis with Bader and DeJong.

The dinner festures a collection of baseball legends including Hall of Famers Lou Brock, Red Schoendienst, Whitey Herzog, Tony La Russa and Bruce Sutter; and Cardinals Hall of Famers Mark McGwire, Ted Simmons, Chris Carpenter, Willie McGee, Tim McCarver, Jim Edmonds and Mike Shannon.

Also to be honored at the writers’ dinner are infielder Paul DeJong, who hit 13 homers for Memphis and then went on to blast 25 for the Cardinals; Memphis manager Stubby Clapp, named Minor League Manager of the Year by Baseball America; right-hander Jack Flaherty, 22; and outfielder Harrison Bader, 23.

Flaherty was named the minor league Pitcher of the Year and Bader was the Cardinals’ minor league Player of the Year.

Tickets are priced at $150, $200 and $250 for the dinner, with an additional $25 added if coupled with a pass to the Cardinals’ Winter Warm-Up, which will take place that weekend. Tickets can be bought through MetroTix.com or StLouisBBWAA.com, by calling (314) 534-1111, or by sending check or money order to St. Louis BBWAA, PO Box 605, St. Louis, Mo., 63188.


Print Friendly, PDF & Email
Share this: