Home >> Sports >> Whitfield, CBC earn district wrestling championships

Whitfield, CBC earn district wrestling championships

By: Warren Mayes

The Whitfield Warriors and the CBC Cadets each earned a district wrestling championship.

Whitfield is the defending Class 1 state champion. CBC finished second in Class 4 a year ago.

The top four finishers in each weight class qualified for the state tournament, which begins Thursday (Feb. 17) in Columbia.

Whitfield hosted the Class 1 District 1 Tournament and easily won with the district title with 296 points. Principia was seventh with 63 points.

The Warriors had 11 champions.

Here is how Whitfield did at district: At 106, Logan Ferrero scored a pin over Kaden Crane, of Palmyra, in 1 minute, 19 seconds. At 113, Connor McAteer scored a major decision over Tristin Benson, of Hancock, 12-0. At 120, Wade Raeman earned a technical fall over Blade Crook, of Hancock, by a 17-0 score. At 126, three-time state champion Michael McAteer pinned Keon Hollis, of Sumner, in 26 seconds. At 132, J.R. Ditter, won by technical fall over Ashton Wynn, of Hancock, with a 17-0 decision. At 152, Matt Schueddig pinned Peyton Timbrook, of Palmyra, in 1:27. At 160, Ethan Hovis, Whitfield, pinned Conner Roberts, of Palmyra, in 37 seconds. At 170, Zac Russell pinned Tayveon Brown, of Brentwood, in 2:27. At 182, Noah Elmore pinned Herman Jackson, of Central, New Madrid County, in 25 seconds. At 220, William Boldt pinned Daniel Young, of Sumner, in 1:12. At 285, two-time state champion Max Darrah won a 7-0 decision over Jay Maltbia, of New Madrid County.

For Principia, three wrestlers qualified for state. At 145, Garrett Sheets came in second after being pinned in 3:17 by Daryus Webb, of Sumner. At 160, William Buchanan won third place with an 8-3 decision over TJ Lawrence, of Lutheran St. Charles. At 170, Steve Keyes came in fourth, losing 10-5 to AJ Snow III, of Lutheran St. Charles. At 195, Alex Reyes won third place by injury default over Davonte Trotter, of Hancock.

In Class 4 District 1, CBC won with 208.5 points. Lafayette with 184.5 points came in third. Eureka (141) was fourth and Marquette was seventh with 82 points. Parkway South finished 10th with 42.5 points.

CBC won six championship and qualified two others for state.

At 113, Cevion Severado won by injury default over Jayden Carson, of Lafayette. At 126, three-time state champion Malik Johnson scored a 9-4 decision over Cameron Fusco, of Seckman. At 132, Joshua Saunders earned a 5-1 decision over Garret Kloeppel, of Parkway South, At 182, DJ Shannon slipped by Kyle Dickhaus, of Eureka, 7-5. At 138, Kyle Prewitt beat Anthony Chellew, of Seckman, 8-4. At 152, Will Edgar, beat Anthony Michaels, of Lafayette, 4-0. At 120, Kai Orine, of Seckman, got by Vincent Zerban 1-0 in the championship match. At 195, Matt Gentry, of Eureka, defeated Charlie Cadell 2-1.

Besides Jayden Carson and Anthony Michaels, Lafayette also qualified six other wrestlers. At 145, Cameron Wegener pinned Dawson Javier, of Lindbergh, in 3:56. At 106, Alec Bailey, of Jackson, scored a 3-2 in over Jalin Reese in the third-place match. At 120, Jack Lenox, of Marquette, decisioned Jaylen Carson 5-3 in the third-place match. At 160, Jacob Malven won third place with an 8-0 major decision over Micah Feliciano, of Lindbergh. At 195, Austin Wegener won third place with a 10-2 major decision over Ibrahima Sy, of Mehlville. At 220, Logan Wells, of Lindbergh, beat Cortez Woods 4-1 in the championship match.

Besides Dickhaus, Eurka also will send three other matmen to state. At 126, Ryan Lester bested Dylan Looney, of Fox, 10-0. At 145, Jack Sauter won third place with an 8-4 (SV-1) win over Gavin Moore, of Seckman. At 170, Jalen Gayfield, of Marquette, beat Luke Dickhaus 12-5 for the championship. At 220, Marco Perla, of Marquette, won a 2-1 (TB-2) decision over Jake McCollum for third place. At 285, Brendan Carter won the championship with a 3-2 (UTB) win over Lucas Osia, of Lindbergh.

In the Class 4 District 2 Tournament, De Smet finished seventh with 71.5 points and Chaminade came in 10th with 48 points.

De Smet will send two wrestlers to state as will Chaminade.

At 106, Eric Lovelace, of De Smet, pinned Hayden Ferrell, of Holt, in 3 minutes for the championship. At 160, Cory Peterson, of De Smet, won a 3-2 decision over Colton Hawks, of Holt.

For Chaminade, defending state champion Danny Conley won the 285-pound championship with a 9-2 win over Jordan Williams, of Fort Zumwalt West. At 113, Josh Kyle, of Francis Howell, pinned Sam Schultz, of Chaminade, in 2:49 to win the championship.

In the Class 3 District 2 Tournament, Parkway West was sixth with 82 points. Westminster Christian Academy was 12th with 42.5 points.

Parkway West will send three wrestlers to state. At 120, Jordan Kestner, of St. Charles, beat Joshua McCallister 5-3 in the championship match. At 138, Christian Zeik, of Liberty, pinned Donald Griffin in 50 seconds and at 182, Jackson Barnhart won the championship with a pin in 41 seconds over Albert Brown, of McCluer.

Westminster will send two to state, At 195, Jameson White, of Hannibal, scored a 13-5 win over Patrick Andrews for third place. At 220, Charlie McCracken pinned Chase Kirby, of Hannibal, in 4:42.

In the Class 2 District 2 Tournament, Priory was sixth with 76.5 points. The Rebels will send four to state. At 120,
Elliot Holdosh won third place with a 10-3 decision over Evan Parker, of St. Charles West. At 170, Kellen Ekern, of Mexico, pinned Greg Rolwes in 1:44. At 182, Tristan Hachtel, of St. Charles West, beat Louis Rolwes 8-6 to take third. At 195, Jason Kemp, of John Burroughs earned a 7-2 decision over Nathan Abad.

Print Friendly
Share this: