Home >> Author Archives: Warren Mayes (page 20)

Author Archives: Warren Mayes

Experienced Priory tennis team playing well, looks ahead to big matches

Priory pulled off a major victory when the coach Kurt Miller’s Rebels won the recent Metro League tennis tournament. MICDS has won the Class 1 state championship and has owned the tournament in recent years. The Rams have some state qualifiers back this spring and were expected to win the league tourney again. In Miller’s first year coaching the team ...

Read More »

2016-17 all-conference boys basketball teams

Here are the all-conference boys basketball teams from leagues that responded to requests for information. Suburban West Conference Player of the year: Spencer Levi, sr., Lindbergh Coach of the year: Mitch Stevens, Parkway South FIRST TEAM Doraine Adams Jr., sr., Mehlville Kory Brubaker, sr., Lafayette Nick Bulanda, sr., Marquette Alex Cleary, sr., Eureka Dominic Davis, sr., Lindbergh Adam Flinn, sr., ...

Read More »

2016-17 all-conference girls basketball teams

Here are the all-conference girls teams from leagues that responded to requests for information: Metro League Player of the year: Leketor Member-Meneh, sr., Lutheran South 12 FIRST TEAM Alison Gill, jr., John Burroughs Caitlyn Demaree, sr., Principia Jordyn White, so., Lutheran North Jordyn Brooks, jr., MICDS Lauren Gast, jr., Villa Duchesne SECOND TEAM Natalie Lawson, sr., Lutheran South Lauryn Hughes, ...

Read More »

2016-17 all-conference wrestling teams

Here are the all-conference wrestling teams that responded  to requests for the teams. 2016-17 Metro Catholic Conference  Outstanding Wrestler of the Year: D.J. Shannon (CBC) First Team 106 Cevion Severado (CBC) 113 Sam Schultz (Chaminade) 120 Malik Johnson (CBC) 126 Kyle Prewitt (CBC) 132 Josh Saunders (CBC) 138 Joe Schmidt (CBC) 145 Will Edgar (CBC) 152 Andrew Gentry (CBC) 160 ...

Read More »

Parkway Central Classic boys volleyball tournament turns 20; new champ to be crowned

The Parkway Central Classic boasts another solid field for the 20th annual playing of the high school boys volleyball tournament. Action begins Friday [April 14] in the two-day tournament. There will be a new champion crowned this year. Last spring, St. Louis University High defeated De Smet for the title. SLUH is not in this year’s meet. “We usually have ...

Read More »

Dynamic duo claims racquetball’s most coveted crowns

The Parkway South duo of senior Elyse Duffie and junior Katy Moran are national champions. The pair won first place in No. 1 seed doubles in the USA Racquetball High School National Championships held at Missouri Athletic Club West. Duffie and Moran defeated Kaitlyn Boyle and Kimaia Gassner, of Beaverton High School, Portland, Oregon, 15-14 15-5. “Winning doubles at the ...

Read More »