Home >> Sports >> Football


West County native Gabbert signs deal with Tennessee Titans

Former Parkway West standout quarterback Blaine Gabbert has a new NFL team  to play for this season. The Tennessee Titans agreed to terms Tuesday on a deal with Gabbert. The 28-year-old Gabbert is expected to replace Matt Cassel as Marcus Mariota’s backup. The Titans announced earlier this month they intend to release Cassel. Gabbert, the No. 10 overall pick in the 2011 draft ...

Read More »

Chaminade senior standout defensive tackle Trout verbally commits to USC

At the end of a journey that has consumed more than three years of his high school academic and football career, Chaminade standout lineman Trevor Trout has decided on where he will spend the next phase of his academic and football life. A dynamic top-tier senior recruit, who hails from Ferguson, Trout verbally committed to Pacific 10 power University Of Southern ...

Read More »

High school football all-conference teams

Here is a look at the 2017 all-conference high school football teams: Suburban West Conference American Division Offensive player of the year: RB Hassan Haskins, sr., Eureka Defensive player of the year: DL Brendan Carter, sr., Eureka Returner of the year: Rico Payton, sr., Lindbergh Coach of the year: Jacob Sumner, Eureka FIRST-TEAM OFFENSE QB Parker Powell, sr., Lindbergh RB ...

Read More »

Hard-nosed Ladue pushes past Parkway Central for Class 4 championship game berth

Parkway Central coach Mark Goldenberg had gambled and succeeded many times with fake punts this season. On Friday, the gamble came up craps. Down 17-14 just under a minute into the fourth quarter, Goldenberg’s Colts tried to run a fake punt on a fourth-and-5 at their 40. Central senior quarterback and punter Patrick Dill took a pitch to the right ...

Read More »

Parkway Central hosts Ladue in Class 4 football semifinal game

The Parkway Central football team is drawing inspiration from the Colts’ boys soccer team. The soccer team just captured the Class 3 state championship. It was the first state title for the boys soccer program. The football Colts are one game away from earning a chance to compete for its first state crown. “They definitely got the job done,” Parkway ...

Read More »